Leahtard

Not actually a tard.

To Growing Up or Not To Grow Up.

Posted by leahtard on June 18, 2007

glenn_and_viv.jpgimg047.jpg
As my children get older I hear more and more how fast they grow up. As a matter of fact I get the opportunity everyday to watch it happen right before my eyes. My husband Glenn, who I think is by far the best father in the whole world is always telling Vivian that he wishes she would stay four for ever. Most little kids it always seems to me want to grow up, and fast! But Vivian she will sit with her daddy and lament about growing up and how she does not want to.

I get sad too when I think of my little peanuts growing-up, but at the same time I love each stage more than the last and have more fun with my kids with every passing day. Maybe it is because I get to stay at home with them or maybe because I am a mom who really enjoys her children, I am not sure. Either way there are few things I would rather be doing than hanging out with my kids and other moms who hold similar thoughts.

Lately I have been hearing a lot about children growing up and how sad it makes us, but this is what I want you to think about. Be thankful that they are growing up. Growing in mind, body and spirit. Be thankful that they are slowly growing away from you. Be thankful they are pushing the boundaries and trying to gain independence. I have seen way too may children who will be 1, 2, 3 even 4 years old forever because of some mental “incapacity” as it were. Do not get me wrong I love diversity, I love that our children have different needs and different personalities, some very strong and some very mild and others in between.

I am a strong advocate of diversity in the classroom and creating/having it in life. Why? Well, because it is what makes us strong! Obviously not in the sense of physically strong, more along the lines of teaching us how to live strong. How to be excepting, compassionate, forgiving and most importantly of all loving. Differences in every form, no matter how small teach us tolerance and acceptance, something we do not have enough of in the world today. Children have the amazing ability to facilitate this simply by being.

I would have to say I have never met a child who was not loving and willing to give of themselves, it seems that even through hardship children have amazing resiliency and ability to forgive. A inborn quality that would surpass that of most any adult on the planet today. So, I guess that we will miss our children, it is part of our job as parents to morn their growing up but do we want them to say children? No. When they grow, so do we, the blessing in all this is that we get to do it together.

4 Responses to “To Growing Up or Not To Grow Up.”

  1. Damselfly said

    “How to be excepting, compassionate, forgiving and most importantly of all loving. Differences in every form, no matter how small teach us tolerance and acceptance, something we do not have enough of in the world today. Children have the amazing ability to facilitate this simply by being.” This is so poetic — and so true!

  2. chelle said

    …. at the same time I love each stage more than the last ….

    I have always felt this way! So well said! Though I do think I want Ethan to stay this way much longer than I wanted Becca to … last baby I guess.

  3. Jessie said

    Well said! (I do not miss the Potty Training stage) but I love these moments with the kids…the learning, the compassion, the zest for life. Every day with our kids is a “thank you God” day.

  4. Josie said

    This was beautifully written.
    Some days I miss the time when Ty needed me more. And then I think about the remarkable young man he has becaome and figure its a pretty fair trade off.

Leave a Reply

 
