Leahtard

Not actually a tard.

I sold my shares in Huggies!

Posted by leahtard on May 13, 2007

img0051.jpg

It’s official, I have sold my shares in Huggies, we are going to be rich, rich, rich! Alex is finally potty trained! The past few months I have been in a panic because I have been scared my little munchkin will not be able to go to Nursery School in the fall. They naturally only except children that are potty trained. This fear may have been unfounded but after hearing so many stories of how boys take so much longer to train, I was quite concerned and so have been on a mission to make this happen. I was not having much luck for the past 4 months until my friend Katheryn told me about a friend of hers who went to a seminar on “Potty Training”.

This is what the woman said.

It will take 3 days! Make sure you have plenty of underwear, and that does not mean pull-ups or any sort of supper absorbent anything, just plain underwear, (like 14 pairs). Your child needs to know that they are wet and feel uncomfortable, they need to feel cold and that little burn on the skin that comes with pee when it drips down their leg – in short they need to know that they actually peed. Do not give in! You of course optimally want to catch them mid pee if possible or poop for that matter. Actually you want to get them before if you can. Watch, watch, watch. This is where all your privet eye training comes in handy. If you can tell if your kid has had a sneaky cookie or what they had for dinner last night you can tell when they need to go, you just have to be diligent. Enlist the help of other siblings, to remind the child that they have to pee or poop. If a pee or bm happens give everyone a smatrie – but only if it happens in the potty! When the child has a accident don’t make a big deal about it just tell them that. “Pee goes in the potty and you know that they will do better next time.” This naturally tends to be the most painful part simply because you have probably been trained for at least 25 years or so and don’t get the big deal. What you do get though is the big pissy/shity mess that has been left just for your disposal.

Yes, you will probably stink after all is said and done and your carpets and furniture may need to be cleaned, but freedom awaits, financial freedom that is.

I followed the plan and on day one Alex used every pair of underwear. Day two he used the potty about 5 times and day three he never even had a accident. Day four was a bonus because he also had a dry night. Since day four he had be dry day and night for four weeks. I think it is safe to say we are free! We do get the occasinal accident, mostly when he is outside and really into what he is doing – but still I’ll call it a success.

Hip hip hooray Alex goes to school two mornings a week in the fall! Vivian goes to school two full days a week next fall and they are the same days. My dream: One day I will sleep the other I will clean, can life get any better? I think not!

7 Responses to “I sold my shares in Huggies!”

  1. chelle said

    w00t w00t Congrats!!!

  2. Congratulations Alex!

  3. Stephanie said

    YAY for him, and your success, Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. Kris said

    Congrats on the potty training!

  5. Damselfly said

    Hurray! I have zero experience with potty training, but I’ve heard so many horror stories. Yours sounds like success! I’ll come to you for advice when it’s our turn!

  6. Catherine said

    Good for you!!! I’ll be coming for advise in a few years (and millions of dollars) from now…

  7. leahtard said

    All I can say is that it worked my little girl was trained by 16 months. She got something called Gastroenteritis’s and did not have a solid B.M. for 3 weeks. She realized very quickly that going on the potty did not hurt as much. So really we did not even train her, Alex was our first.

Leave a Reply

 
