Leahtard

Not actually a tard.

A licence for marraige.

Posted by leahtard on May 4, 2007

My husband has a really dry sense of humor, and because he is 7 years older than me he has a bit more life experience than I do, so more often than not he can out maneuver me in all most anything. He also is very good at distraction and diversion, this is a great skill to have for raising our 2 1/2 and 4 year old and I applauded him for his parenting skills but the problem is, is that it also works on me. So more often than not I am distracted from my main purpose and diverted from my goal. But on one day I thought I won.

One day we were driving to town and I was telling Glenn about what fun we were going to have once we were married, (we had been dating for about 6 months). I talked about the wedding, about our future children, the places we would go and the things we would do, and how much fun we would have. When Glenn looked at me and said “I can’t marry you”.

I could not believe what I was hearing, I was floored how could he not want to marry me! I said to him in my most uppity voice “You will marry me if I say you are going to marry me”!

“No, Leah I’m not and I haven’t even asked you yet”.
I was devastated and said. “Glenn, how can you say that”!

To which he replied. “Leah, I bought you a car, it’s just sitting there and you still are not interested in driving, so if we get married and have kids what are you going to do call a cab to take our kids to school every morning what if they need to go to he hospital. When you get a license I will ask you to marry me”.

I was gob-smacked, what could I say, he was right, I had done nothing to get my license and really was not interested in getting it. I kinda liked being driven around, but he did have a point with the whole kid thing. I mean, it’s not like we live in NY, Tokyo or even Toronto where a lot of people go their whole lives without ever driving. This is Alberta everybody drives, you almost have to because you are so damn far from everything/everyone. If nothing else, us people in the prairie’s love our vehicles often times the bigger the better,(I think it has to do with big oil and big farms) it is nothing for a family with one kid or even two to own a great big honkin mini van where there is nothing mini about it, lets not even talk about SUV’s or Yukon’s, it is crazy! You would not believe the number of mom’s, (and if you are one I’m not really sorry) that tell me they have to have it to put all of the kids stuff in. I don’t believe it, it’s a waste of energy and money not to mention what they do to our environment. Oopppsy, did it again, sorry.

At the tender age of 26 I called to make my drivers appointment, 3 days later I took the test and I passed. I walked into Glenn’s work and told him he needed to start saving because we were going shopping for a BIG rock! I was so proud of myself and so was he, a few short weeks later we were ring shopping, but that is another story.

Next: Torment.  Sometimes it’s good for the soul.

3 Responses to “A licence for marraige.”

  1. Tee hee! Again, Glenn rocks.

    And, you try travelling with two dogs, a cat and a baby or two without a van! They all need seatbelts you know. 😉

  2. chelle said

    hehe Sounds like your husband knew you well even then! Isn’t it cool when they just “get” you?!

  3. Josie said

    He sounds like a keeper and a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

 
