Leahtard

Not actually a tard.

Anybody gotta kid?

Posted by leahtard on April 17, 2007

If you by chance read my “Amateur OBGYN”, post than you know we had problems getting a baby, number two arrived the first night we tried, it was as though my body finally said “ohhhhh, ya that’s what you do”, and we were off like a herd of turtles. Four separate Dr’s told us after Viv that a number two was never going to happen because I’d had so many problems birthing her. I have Endometriosis which makes your guts/uterus look like the inside of a pumpkin, I also had a very bad hernia and it pushed my bladder…..Stop…..Sorry!!!! I just got carried away and realized that nobody wants to read about my guts. The point is I finally found a Dr. that said I could try again, he would C-Section me 3 weeks early, and have relevant Dr’s there in case of an emergency, they would also try to fix me up as best they could. I had to promise that I would get my tubes tied because my body would not handle a third pregnancy.

You would think that two kids would shut up any sane woman, one girl one boy, millionaires family right? But I’m the kinda girl that probably would have had four kids in as many years and be confused as to how it all happened. Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if my husband wasn’t coo-coo for pregnant women, and went gaa-gaa over babies, (he loves the way they look and always wants to touch bellies, he is very polite and always asks first). He once said to me “Pregnant women are so hot, and you know those girls do it”. Glenn is a Mechanic and a farm boy so it may seem like a strange mix, but he is also very caring and considerate, it’s what makes him the greatest guy ever! Can you tell I love my husband yet? Yes, I know, bla, bla, bla, anyway, where I would maybe have stopped at four kids Glenn would have had ten, (I think it’s a farm boy thing). No matter how you count two does not equal four and definitely not even close to ten.

This puts us is a position of should we adopt? Is Surrogacy even a viable option? Or perhaps we could do IVF, not a real good option for us, because somehow I still have to get this kid out of me, and my innards suck! Adoption would probably be the easiest but already we have filled the papers out three times and then not handed them in. I get scared and panic a bit about hurting any potential little peoples feelings, then I think how could I possibly just pick one they all need a mommy and a daddy, how can I look a child in the eye then just walk away, (maybe it’s better not to look). I checked into getting a baby from China about three years ago and it would cost about $40,000. American and that’s not counting the 10 days you have to stay there for evaluation, airfare and accommodation. Holy Kummolie we don’t have that kinda cash laying about plus one day Glenn says he wants to retire.

I guess that what I’m trying to say is that when all you have to do is “DO IT”, it’s like the decision is made for you. It kicks the hell out of all that paper work and if your in a committed relationship and you are not a freak it’s free, not to mention a lot of fun! Sooooo, I guess now that I’ve got the calf’s for free I want more calf’s for free. Does that make any sense? The easiest thing would be for someone to just drop off a baby on my doorstep. Step 1. Ring the bell, (we do not want the little peanut getting cold). Step 2. Run like hell, (I promise I won’t look real hard). We do not care about colour or Nationality, a baby is a baby. Okay I’m equal opportunity I’d take older kids too. I like them just as well.

6 Responses to “Anybody gotta kid?”

  1. chelle said

    awww .. sucks that you both want more kids and it is not as easy as it could be in theory …. A friend of mine adopted from China and I sure she did not pay $40k! I have always thought I wanted to adopt, but then my husband said to me “What about our own kids, would you not be taking away from them?” and really we would be giving them another sibling, but taking away too … so I think we are set with the two we have now. I know a few people that have adopted special needs babies … maybe an option to think about? (way hard too though wow! I not sure I could do it!)

  2. You guys are great parents – if I ever hear of anyone looking to abandon a child I’ll give them your address. 😉

  3. We have been trying for 22 months now to conceive our first and you probably know the rest of my story if you’ve been reading the last couple posts, but we were 1 step away from start the adoption process on a sibling group from Liberia, Africa, when DH wanted to put it on hold to try some infertility treatments. One day we will adopt, the timing is not right though. We chose Liberia because the cost is between 8,000 – 11,000 which is the cheapest, anywhere. We, too, don’t have that kind of money laying around and we, too, would like to retire one day.

  4. Wow! That’s a tough decision to make. I have a friend who is just in the process of adopting from Africa (Ethopia) and it’s costing her around the $20000. She just redid her mortage and got the money that way.

  5. Damselfly said

    You’re right, doing it does seem a lot better than all that paperwork and money. Hey, you know what they have where I live? A no-questions-asked policy if a parent leaves a child at a fire or police station. Maybe you could put up some equipment that makes your house look like a station — some “free squad car/fire truck parking” signs would be great too — and then some parents would mistake your home for a safe place to give up a child. It just might work….

  6. Jessie said

    Leah, I know how you feel. When we adopted Our children and my heart was breaking that we could not (due to the Birthfamily) adopt their older brother too, you gave me heart by saying “you can’t save every Starfish on the beach” I know this was a Dr. Laura saying but it helped me face a very dark time. My heart still bleeds, but I have never regretted for a single moment how I had to become a mom. After a time (in my case seconds!) the lines of blood no longer matter, all you know is that this shining child needs you and you are their mommy. As far as the doorbell approach, the Gov. will still get their fee (trust me on this one!). No matter what you decide, if you ever need advice on the process end, call me. I can’t describe childbirth but I sure can describe the paperwork!

Leave a Reply

 
